Current faculty focus their research and teaching on studies of text, ritual and performance to create this Program’s special emphasis on the arts and humanities in Southeast Asia and its diasporas. The Program is also assisted by affiliate faculty in the wider university community.

Muhamad Ali (Religious Studies)
Islam, Indonesia
muhamad.ali@ucr.edu

David Biggs (History)
Vietnamese, Environment
david.biggs@ucr.edu
Website

Charmaine Craig (Creative Writing)

Fiction, fact, and freedom; historical fiction and narratology

charmaine.craig@ucr.edu

Weihsin Gui (English)

Anglophone literatures of South & Southeast Asia

weihsin.gui@ucr.edu
Website

Emily Hue (Ethnic Studies)
Cultural Studies, Burma/ Myanmar, Queer/ Feminist Studies, Asian American Studies
emilyhue@ucr.edu

Tamara C. Ho (Gender and Sexuality Studies)
Burma/Myanmar, Asian American Studies
tamara.ho@ucr.edu

Mariam Beevi Lam (Comparative Literature)

Vietnam, Asian American Studies
mariam.lam@ucr.edu

Rene Lysloff (Music; emeritus)
Indonesia
rene.lysloff@ucr.edu

Hendrik Maier (Comparative Literature; emeritus)
Malaysia, Indonesia
hendrik.maier@ucr.edu

Sally Ann Ness (Anthropology)
Philippines
Sally.Ness@ucr.edu

Victoria Reyes (Sociology)

Culture, territoriality, borders, empire
victoria.reyes@ucr.edu

Christina Schwenkel (Anthropology)
Vietnam
cschwenk@ucr.edu
Website

Sarita Echavez See (Media and Cultural Studies)
Philippines and diaspora
sarita.see@ucr.edu

Rican Vue (Graduate School of Education)
Intersections of race, ethnicity, class and gender in education
rican.vue@ucr.edu

Deborah Wong (Music)

Ethnomusicology, musics of Thailand and Asian America
deborah.wong@ucr.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Wendy Rogers, Emeritus
Dance
wendy.rogers@ucr.edu

Kurt Schwabe
Environmental Science
kurt.schwabe@ucr.edu