Current faculty focus their research and teaching on studies of text, ritual and performance to create this Program’s special emphasis on the arts and humanities in Southeast Asia and its diasporas. The Program is also assisted by affiliate faculty in the wider university community.

Muhamad Ali Muhamad Ali (Religious Studies)
Islam, Indonesia
muhamad.ali@ucr.edu
David Biggs David Biggs (History)
Vietnamese, Environment
david.biggs@ucr.edu
Website
Charmaine Craig Charmaine Craig (Creative Writing)
Fiction, fact, and freedom; historical fiction and narratology
charmaine.craig@ucr.edu
Weihsin Gui Weihsin Gui (English)
Anglophone literatures of South & Southeast Asia
weihsin.gui@ucr.edu
Website
Emily Hue Emily Hue (Ethnic Studies)
Cultural Studies, Burma/ Myanmar, Queer/ Feminist Studies, Asian American Studies
emilyhue@ucr.edu
Tamara Ho Tamara C. Ho (Gender and Sexuality Studies)
Burma/Myanmar, Asian American Studies
tamara.ho@ucr.edu
Mariam Lam Mariam Beevi Lam (Comparative Literature)
Vietnam, Asian American Studies
mariam.lam@ucr.edu
Rene Lysloff Rene Lysloff (Music; emeritus)
Indonesia
rene.lysloff@ucr.edu
Hendrik Maier Hendrik Maier (Comparative Literature; emeritus)
Malaysia, Indonesia
hendrik.maier@ucr.edu
Sally Ann Ness Sally Ann Ness (Anthropology)
Philippines
Sally.Ness@ucr.edu
Reyes

Victoria Reyes (Sociology)
Culture, territoriality, borders, empire
victoria.reyes@ucr.edu

Christina Schwenkel Christina Schwenkel (Anthropology)
Vietnam
cschwenk@ucr.edu
Website
Sarita Echavez See Sarita Echavez See (Media and Cultural Studies)
Philippines and diaspora
sarita.see@ucr.edu
Rican Vue Rican Vue (Graduate School of Education)
Intersections of race, ethnicity, class and gender in education
rican.vue@ucr.edu
Deborah Wong Deborah Wong (Music)
Ethnomusicology, musics of Thailand and Asian America
deborah.wong@ucr.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Wendy Rogers, Emeritus
Dance
wendy.rogers@ucr.edu

Kurt Schwabe
Environmental Science
kurt.schwabe@ucr.edu